The International Jazz Festival Of Wales

7pm - 8:50pm  (with interval)
Dylan Thomas Theatre


The Best of British Septet

Matt Skelton: Drums Colin Skinner: Saxophone Mike Lovatt: Trumpet Alan Barnes: Saxophone Gordon Campbell: Trombone Rob Barron: Piano Jeremy Brown: Bass
Supported by: Cefnogir gan:
City and County of Swansea Dinas a Sir Abertawe
The Skelton/Skinner Allstar Septet: Composed of key soloists and lead players from the BBC Big Band and John Wilson Orchestra, the Skelton/Skinner Septet are a dynamic highlight of the London Jazz Scene. Co-leader Colin Skinner has prepared a unique set of music that will include transcriptions of legendary small band recordings from the Best of British Jazz. The septet are driven by the subtle propulsion of Grammy nominated rhythm team of Matt Skelton (drums) & Jeremy Brown (bass) and tonight will feature a truly all-star line-up including Colin Skinner on saxophone, Mike Lovatt on trumpet, Rob Barron on piano, Gordon Campbell on trombone & UK saxophone legend Alan Barnes. "It's a rare thing indeed to hear a band THIS good. The Skelton Skinner All-Stars has everything; fabulous ensemble playing, terrific jazz soloists, knockout time. The arrangements are inventive and swing like hell. And - get this - the recorded sound is nigh-on perfect. Please buy this CD in bulk." JOHN WILSON